Information about the Collections

All Documents
All the documents presented in e-manuscripta.ch have been assigned to a document type. These categories can also be used in the detailed search function in order to specify the query.

Texts
All written documents, whether whole volumes or single sheets, and with the exception of letters, can be found in the big collection “Texts”. This group contains the manuscripts of literary, historical and scholarly works, also lecture notes, certificates, minutes, lists and receipts.

Correspondence
“Letters” are defined as those written documents, which were sent to a recipient. This encompasses letters, correspondence cards, postcards, and telegrams including drafts and carbon copies. They emanate from estates of private papers or from collections of letters and autographs.

Music Notes
The collection “Music Notes” comprises all musical genres and forms. The handwritten music notations may take the form of manuscripts or transcriptions mainly from scores, piano scores or parts. They may also emanate from estates of private papers or from the libraries of various societies, or may simply be in the form of individual documents.

Pictures
The collection “Pictures” contains drawings and sketches, which are archived as separate sheets, but it also pertains to albums and books consisting of illustrations. Photographs and photographic negatives are all located here too. These documents may be single objects from an estate of private papers, or components of a larger coherent collection.

Maps, Plans
The collection “Maps, Plans” comprises hand-drawn cartographic material, panoramas and profiles. Architectural plans and technical drawings for machines and instruments are also located here.

Various
The collection “Various” contains items which can not be assigned to any other group.

Selected Documents
Certain documents which are assigned to the categories “Persons, Institutions”, “Thematic” or “Document Type” constitute additional collections. These additional collections may be utilised as filters in the advanced search function. This service is currently being developed.

Informations à propos des collections

Tous les documents
Les documents présentés dans e-manuscripta.ch sont classés par genre. Cette classification peut être utilisée pour affiner la recherche dans la fonction de recherche avancée.

Textes
La collection des “Textes” rassemble tous les écrits, qu’il s’agisse de volumes entiers ou de documents d’une seule page, à l’exception des lettres. Dans cette collection se trouvent les manuscrits d’ouvrages littéraires, historiques et scientifiques, des notes de cours, des chartes, des protocoles, des listes ou des quittances.

Lettres
Cette catégorie réunit les documents rédigés afin d’être envoyés à un destinataire. Il peut s’agir de lettres proprement dites mais aussi de cartes-lettres, cartes postales, télégrammes, brouillons ou copies. Ces documents proviennent de fonds d’archives ou de collections de lettres et d’autographes.

Partitions
La collection des “Partitions”, originales ou recopiées, rassemble avant tout des partitions générales, des parties séparées et des réductions pour piano liées à tous les genres et formes de musique. Il s’agit non seulement de documents isolés mais aussi de pièces provenant de fonds d’archives ou de bibliothèques de sociétés.

Images
La collection “Images” réunit dessins et esquisses sur des supports individuels, de même que des albums et des recueils d’illustrations, des photographies et des diapositives. Ces documents peuvent être des pièces isolées provenant de fonds d’archives ou appartenir à des collections plus larges.

Cartes et plans
Cette catégorie regroupe les cartes géographiques, panoramas et profils dessinés à la main, mais aussi des plans architecturaux ou des dessins techniques de machines ou d’appareils.

Divers
Cette catégorie rassemble les documents qui ne peuvent être attribués sans équivoque à une autre collection.

Sélections de documents
Certains documents sont regroupés au sein de collections liées à des “Personnes, Institutions”, des “Thématiques” ou des “Types de source”. Ces collections supplémentaires peuvent être utilisées pour affiner la recherche dans la fonction de recherche avancée. Cette offre est en cours de développement.