About e-manuscripta.ch

The presentation platform e-manuscripta.ch provides Swiss libraries and archives with a presentation tool for digitised manuscripts of all kinds. The spectrum ranges from text manuscripts (single and collective), through to correspondence by individuals and institutions, but also comprises music, manuscript maps and graphic material. The documents are selected and digitised locally by the various institutions concerned, and subsequently presented on the collective platform. The digitised objects are accompanied by a core set of metadata, however for a more detailed description, the respective library catalogues and archive databases should be consulted.

The platform was developed as a collaborative project involving three Swiss university libraries, the Zentralbibliothek Zürich, the Universitätsbibliothek Basel and the ETH-Bibliothek. Since its inception, further institutions have made their holdings available, thereby expanding the range of material hosted on the platform.

E-manuscripta.ch uses the software Visual Library, produced by semantics GmbH and Walter Nagel GmbH & Co. KG. The project has been coordinated by the Zentralbibliothek Zürich and, as service provider, hosted by the ETH-Bibliothek. The design has taken place in close consultation with e-rara.ch, the presentation platform for digitised prints held in Swiss libraries.

If your institution is also interested in participating, please contact contact@e-manuscripta.ch.

Über e-manuscripta

Die Präsentationsplattform e-manuscripta.ch dient Schweizer Bibliotheken und Archiven als Präsentationstool für digitalisierte handschriftliche Quellen aller Art. Das Spektrum reicht von Texthandschriften (Einzel- und Sammelhandschriften) und Korrespondenzstücken von Personen und Institutionen bis hin zu Musikalien, Manuskriptkarten und graphischen Materialien. Die Dokumente werden dezentral in den einzelnen Institutionen selektiert, digitalisiert und auf der gemeinsamen Plattform präsentiert. Die Digitalisate sind mit einem Kernset von Metadaten versehen, für eine detaillierte Suche empfiehlt es sich, die Bibliothekskataloge und Archivdatenbanken der Institutionen zu konsultieren.

Die Plattform wurde als Kooperationsprojekt von drei Schweizer Hochschulbibliotheken, der Zentralbibliothek Zürich, der Universitätsbibliothek Basel und der ETH-Bibliothek, aufgebaut. Mittlerweile beteiligen sich weitere Institutionen mit ihren Beständen am Ausbau des Angebots.

E-manuscripta.ch wird mit dem System Visual Library der Firmen semantics GmbH und Walter Nagel GmbH & Co. KG realisiert. Die Koordination wird von der Zentralbibliothek Zürich wahrgenommen, als Dienstleister übernimmt die ETH-Bibliothek das Hosting der Anwendung. Der Aufbau der Plattform ist in enger Kooperation mit e-rara.ch, der Präsentationsplattform für digitalisierte Drucke aus Schweizer Bibliotheken, erfolgt.

Falls auch Ihre Institution Interesse an einer Teilnahme hat, wenden Sie sich bitte an contact@e-manuscripta.ch.