About e-manuscripta.ch

The presentation platform e-manuscripta.ch provides Swiss libraries and archives with a presentation tool for digitised manuscripts of all kinds. The spectrum ranges from text manuscripts (single and collective), through to correspondence by individuals and institutions, but also comprises music, manuscript maps and graphic material. The documents are selected and digitised locally by the various institutions concerned, and subsequently presented on the collective platform. The digitised objects are accompanied by a core set of metadata, however for a more detailed description, the respective library catalogues and archive databases should be consulted.

The platform was developed as a collaborative project involving three Swiss university libraries, the Zentralbibliothek Zürich, the Universitätsbibliothek Basel and the ETH-Bibliothek. Since its inception, further institutions have made their holdings available, thereby expanding the range of material hosted on the platform.

E-manuscripta.ch uses the software Visual Library, produced by semantics GmbH and Walter Nagel GmbH & Co. KG. The project has been coordinated by the Zentralbibliothek Zürich and, as service provider, hosted by the ETH-Bibliothek. The design has taken place in close consultation with e-rara.ch, the presentation platform for digitised prints held in Swiss libraries.

If your institution is also interested in participating, please contact contact@e-manuscripta.ch.

À propos d‘e-manuscripta.ch

Le portail e-manuscripta.ch permet aux bibliothèques et archives suisses de présenter en ligne des sources manuscrites numérisées de tous genres: documents écrits (manuscrits simples ou composites), correspondance entre personnes ou institutions, partitions musicales, cartes et documents graphiques. Les documents sont sélectionnés et numérisés individuellement par les bibliothèques avant d’être mis en ligne sur le portail. Les fichiers numériques sont accompagnés d’un set de métadonnées. Pour une recherche détaillée, il est conseillé d’utiliser les catalogues ou autres base de données des bibliothèques et institutions partenaires.

Le portail est né de la coopération de trois bibliothèques universitaires: la Zentralbibliothek Zürich, l’Universitätsbibliothek Basel et l’ETH-Bibliothek. Depuis, d’autres institutions sont venues enrichir ce service avec leurs collections.

E-manuscripta.ch utilise le système Visual Library développé par les sociétés semantics GmbH et Walter Nagel GmbH & Co. KG. La Zentralbibliothek Zürich en assure la coordination et l’application est hébergée par l’ETH-Bibliothek. Le développement de la plateforme a été réalisé en étroite collaboration avec e-rara.ch, le portail numérique d’imprimés anciens conservés dans les bibliothèques suisses.

Si votre institution est intéressée à participer, merci de vous adresser à contact@e-manuscripta.ch.