Terms and conditions of use

The partner institutions make their digital documents available for downloading on the e-manuscripta.ch portal, whenever possible free of charge. The type of licence and the terms and conditions of use are stated individually for each document. Three types of licence are distinguished:

  • Copyright in a work has expired: The published documents are in the public domain and can be used without restriction. The documents are provided with the Public Domain Mark. They may be freely used for scientific, private, non-commercial and commercial purposes.

  • Rights of use reside with the partner institutions: Provided the source is stated, the published documents may be freely used for scientific, private, non-commercial and commercial purposes and passed on under the same conditions in the event of changes. The source can be found in the title view. The documents are licensed under Creative Commons BY-SA 4.0.

  • Restricted rights of use. The rights reside with third parties: Provided the source is stated, the published documents may be freely used for scientific, private and non-commercial purposes. Each form of publication (print and online) and any commercial use requires the copyright holder’s prior consent in writing. Please contact the holding institution. Individual files or printouts may be passed on to third parties provided the appropriate terms and conditions of use are stated along with their provenance (holding institution, shelf mark, author). Systematic copying of files onto other servers is permitted only with the prior consent in writing of the portal’s administrative office or the holding institution(s).

It is desirable that the persistent links DOI offered by e-manuscripta.ch should be used, e.g. http://dx.doi.org/10.7891/e-manuscripta-1009.

The precise source must be stated whenever any document or part of any document is used or reproduced. The source can be found in the title view. The holding institution should be provided with a specimen copy.

It is also possible to order, conforming to the terms of use, digital files in high-resolution TIFF format (usually at least 300 dpi). Digital files are administered and archived by the holding institutions and may be ordered directly from them. This service is subject to a charge in accordance with the institutions’ scales of charges.

Information on copyright

If an e-manuscripta.ch partner institution mistakenly publishes digital files without the consent of the copyright holders, you are asked to contact e-manuscripta.ch on contact@e-manuscripta.ch.

Exclusion of liability

All information is provided with no guarantee as to completeness or accuracy. The user is responsible for complying with copyright provisions. Neither e-manuscripta.ch nor the partner institutions accept any liability for the unlawful use of digital files or for losses resulting from the use of information in this portal or from the absence of such information. This restriction also applies to third-party content available on this portal. Users release the operators of the e-manuscripta.ch portal and the providing institutions from any claims resulting from breach of copyright or other intellectual property rights.

Before using images of persons, users must obtain authorisation from the persons depicted. The holding institution is not liable for any breach of this clause.

Nutzungsbedingungen

Auf der Plattform e-manuscripta.ch stellen die beteiligten Institutionen ihre Digitalisate wann immer möglich kostenfrei zum Herunterladen zur Verfügung. Die Lizenzierungsart und die Nutzungsbedingungen sind individuell bei jedem Dokument angegeben. Es werden drei Typen unterschieden:

  • Urheberrechte an einem Werk sind abgelaufen: Die veröffentlichten Dokumente sind gemeinfrei und können ohne Einschränkung verwendet werden. Die Dokumente sind mit der Public Domain Mark versehen. Diese Dokumente können für wissenschaftliche, private, nicht-kommerzielle und kommerzielle Zwecke frei verwendet werden.

  • Nutzungsrechte liegen bei den beteiligten Institutionen: Die veröffentlichten Dokumente können unter Angabe des korrekten Zitiernachweises für wissenschaftliche, private, nicht-kommerzielle und kommerzielle Zwecke frei verwendet und bei Veränderungen unter den gleichen Bedingungen weitergegeben werden. Der Zitiernachweis befindet sich in den Titelansichten. Die Dokumente sind unter Creative Commons BY-SA 4.0 lizenziert.

  • Nutzungsrechte eingeschränkt. Die Rechte liegen bei Dritten: Die veröffentlichten Dokumente können unter Angabe des korrekten Zitiernachweises für wissenschaftliche, private und nicht-kommerzielle Zwecke frei verwendet werden. Jede Form von Publikation (Print und online) oder kommerzieller Nutzung bedarf der vorherigen schriftlichen Zustimmung des Rechteinhabers. Bitte wenden Sie sich an die besitzende Institution. Einzelne Dateien oder Ausdrucke können unter Angabe der entsprechenden Nutzungsbedingungen und korrekter Herkunftsbezeichnung (Nennung der besitzenden Institution und Signatur, sowie des Urhebers) an Dritte weitergegeben werden. Die systematische Speicherung von Dateien auf anderen Servern ist nur mit vorheriger schriftlicher Genehmigung der Geschäftsstelle bzw. der betroffenen Institution(en) gestattet.

Erwünscht ist das Setzen des persistenten Links DOI aus dem Angebot von e-manuscripta.ch, z.B. http://dx.doi.org/10.7891/e-manuscripta-1009.

Bei einer Vervielfältigung oder Verwertung ist für jedes Dokument oder Teile daraus der korrekte Zitiernachweis anzugeben. Der Zitiernachweis findet sich in den Titelansichten. Die Zustellung eines Belegexemplares an die besitzende Institution ist erwünscht.

Von den digitalisierten Dokumenten können im Rahmen der nutzungsrechtlichen Möglichkeiten auch hochaufgelöste Dateien im TIFF-Format bestellt werden (in der Regel mind. 300dpi). Die Digitalisate werden von den besitzenden Institutionen verwaltet, archiviert und können direkt dort bestellt werden. Diese Dienstleistung ist kostenpflichtig und richtet sich nach den Gebührenordnungen der Institutionen.

Information zu den Urheberrechten

Sollte eine an e-manuscripta.ch beteiligte Institution Digitalisate aus ihrem Bestand irrtümlicherweise ohne Einwilligung der Rechteinhaber online gestellt haben, bittet e-manuscripta.ch um Kontaktaufnahme an contact@e-manuscripta.ch.

Haftungsausschluss

Alle Angaben erfolgen ohne Gewähr für Vollständigkeit oder Richtigkeit. Die Einhaltung der urheberrechtlichen Bestimmungen bei einer Weiterverwendung liegt in der Verantwortung der Nutzerinnen und Nutzer. E-manuscripta.ch wie auch die beteiligten Institutionen übernehmen keine Haftung für die widerrechtliche Verwendung digitaler Dokumente und für Schäden, die durch die Verwendung bzw. das Fehlen von Informationen aus diesem Angebot entstehen. Dies gilt auch für die Inhalte Dritter, die über dieses Angebot zugänglich sind. Die Nutzerinnen und Nutzer stellen die Betreiber der Plattform e-manuscripta.ch und die besitzenden Institutionen von jeglichen Ansprüchen infolge Verletzung von Urheber- oder anderen Immaterialgüterrechten frei.

Bei Personenbildnissen sind die Nutzerinnen und Nutzer verpflichtet, vor der Nutzung die Zustimmung der abgebildeten, noch lebenden Personen einzuholen. Die besitzende Institution haftet in keinem Fall für die Verletzung.