Terms and conditions of use

The partner institutions make their digital documents available for downloading on the e-manuscripta.ch portal, whenever possible free of charge. The type of licence and the terms and conditions of use are stated individually for each document. Three types of licence are distinguished:

  • Copyright in a work has expired: The published documents are in the public domain and can be used without restriction. The documents are provided with the Public Domain Mark. They may be freely used for scientific, private, non-commercial and commercial purposes.

  • Rights of use reside with the partner institutions: Provided the source is stated, the published documents may be freely used for scientific, private, non-commercial and commercial purposes and passed on under the same conditions in the event of changes. The source can be found in the title view. The documents are licensed under Creative Commons BY-SA 4.0.

  • Restricted rights of use. The rights reside with third parties: Provided the source is stated, the published documents may be freely used for scientific, private and non-commercial purposes. Each form of publication (print and online) and any commercial use requires the copyright holder’s prior consent in writing. Please contact the holding institution. Individual files or printouts may be passed on to third parties provided the appropriate terms and conditions of use are stated along with their provenance (holding institution, shelf mark, author). Systematic copying of files onto other servers is permitted only with the prior consent in writing of the portal’s administrative office or the holding institution(s).

It is desirable that the persistent links DOI offered by e-manuscripta.ch should be used, e.g. http://dx.doi.org/10.7891/e-manuscripta-1009.

The precise source must be stated whenever any document or part of any document is used or reproduced. The source can be found in the title view. The holding institution should be provided with a specimen copy.

It is also possible to order, conforming to the terms of use, digital files in high-resolution TIFF format (usually at least 300 dpi). Digital files are administered and archived by the holding institutions and may be ordered directly from them. This service is subject to a charge in accordance with the institutions’ scales of charges.

Information on copyright

If an e-manuscripta.ch partner institution mistakenly publishes digital files without the consent of the copyright holders, you are asked to contact e-manuscripta.ch on contact@e-manuscripta.ch.

Exclusion of liability

All information is provided with no guarantee as to completeness or accuracy. The user is responsible for complying with copyright provisions. Neither e-manuscripta.ch nor the partner institutions accept any liability for the unlawful use of digital files or for losses resulting from the use of information in this portal or from the absence of such information. This restriction also applies to third-party content available on this portal. Users release the operators of the e-manuscripta.ch portal and the providing institutions from any claims resulting from breach of copyright or other intellectual property rights.

Before using images of persons, users must obtain authorisation from the persons depicted. The holding institution is not liable for any breach of this clause.

Conditions d'utilisation

Dans le portail e-manuscripta.ch, les institutions partenaires mettent gratuitement à la disposition du public, chaque fois que c’est possible, leurs documents numériques pour être téléchargés. Le statut juridique et les conditions d'utilisation de chaque document sont indiqués. On distingue trois types de licence:

  • Les droits d'auteur attachés à une oeuvre ont expiré: les documents disponibles sur le portail appartiennent au domaine public et peuvent être utilisés sans restriction. Les documents sont munis de la mention Public Domain Mark. Ils peuvent être utilisés librement à des fins scientifiques, privées, non commerciales et commerciales.

  • Les droits d'usage sont détenus par les institutions partenaires: les documents disponibles peuvent être utilisés librement, sous réserve de la mention de la source, à des fins scientifiques, privées, non commerciales et commerciales et transmises à des tiers sous les mêmes conditions en cas de modifications. La source figure sous l’onglet «Titre». Les documents sont régis par la licence Creative Commons BY-SA 4.0.

  • Restriction des droits d'usage. Les droits sont détenus par des tiers: les documents disponibles peuvent être utilisés librement, sous réserve de la mention de la source, à des fins scientifiques, privées et non commerciales. Toute forme de publication (imprimée ou électronique) ainsi que tout usage commercial nécessite le consentement écrit du titulaire des droits. Veuillez vous adresser à l'institution propriétaire. Certains fichiers ou versions imprimées peuvent être transmis à des tiers s’ils sont accompagnés des conditions d’utilisation ainsi que de la mention de leur provenance (institution propriétaire, cote, titulaire des droits). La copie systématique de fichiers sur d’autres serveurs nécessite le consentement écrit de l’administration du portail ou des institutions propriétaires.

L'utilisation des liens permanents DOI qui sont offerts par e-manuscripta.ch est souhaitée, par ex. http://dx.doi.org/10.7891/e-manuscripta-1009.

Toute utilisation ou reproduction totale ou partielle des documents requiert la mention exacte de la source. La source figure sous l‘onglet «Titre». L'envoi d'un exemplaire justificatif à l'institution propriétaire est souhaité.

Il est également possible de commander, conformément aux règles de droits d'usage, des fichiers numériques de haute définition au format TIFF (en principe, au moins 300 dpi). Ces fichiers sont gérés et archivés par les institutions propriétaires et peuvent être commandés directement auprès d’elles. Ce service, payant, est soumis aux dispositions tarifaires des institutions.

Informations sur le droit d'auteur

Si une des institutions partenaires d’e-manuscripta.ch publie par erreur des fichiers numériques sans le consentement des titulaires des droits, vous êtes priés de contacter contact@e-manuscripta.ch.

Clause de non-responsabilité

Les données contenues sur ce site sont livrées sans garantie d'intégralité ou d'exactitude. Le respect du droit d’auteur en cas d’utilisation des documents numériques est de la responsabilité de l’utilisateur. e-manuscripta.ch et les institutions partenaires déclinent toute responsabilité en cas d’utilisation abusive de documents numériques ou de dommages causés par l’usage ou par l‘absence d’informations contenues dans ce portail. Cette restriction s’applique également aux contenus tiers auxquels le portail donne accès. Les utilisateurs et utilisatrices délient les administrateurs du portail e-manuscripta.ch ainsi que les institutions partenaires de toute responsabilité en cas de non-respect du droit d’auteur ou du droit de la propriété intellectuelle.

Avant toute utilisation d’une image représentant des personnes, les utilisateurs doivent obtenir l’autorisation de publier ladite image auprès des personnes représentées. L'institution propriétaire décline toute responsabilité en cas de violation de cette clause.